Aside from giving up something, those that observe Lent will also be spending the next seven Fridays whipping out those fish recipes and abstain from eating meat.
Lent, which typically is the time period from Ash Wednesday through Easter, is meant to be observed with self-sacrifice, prayer and other religious activities leading up to Easter, and one of the rituals is not to eat meat on Fridays during Lent.
A 2017 Lifeway Research survey found that 43% of people who attend church services at least once a month said they observe Lent, including 82% of Catholics who regularly attend services and 30% of Protestants.
Those who observe often cook seafood or attend fish fries to eat. Its even the reason why McDonalds Filet-O-Fish exists. However, the rules of what people are allowed to eat can get confusing.
What is Ash Wednesday? What is Lent? Heres what to know as Christians, Catholics begin Lent
Good Friday is the solemn Christian holiday commemorating Jesus Christ’s crucifixion and death on the cross. On this holy day of obligation, Catholics are expected to fast and abstain from meat. But does turkey qualify as meat under Catholic fasting rules? Let’s take a look at the guidelines around abstinence, what foods are permitted on Good Friday, and whether turkey is allowed.
Fasting vs. Abstinence
There are two main practices Catholics observe on certain holy days: fasting and abstinence.
Fasting means limiting yourself to one full meal for the day, plus two smaller meals that together don’t equal a full meal.
Abstinence means refraining from eating meat
On Good Friday all Catholics age 14 and up are required to abstain from meat. Fasting is also recommended, but not required.
What is Considered Meat?
According to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops (USCCB), abstinence laws relate to animal flesh from mammals and birds. These include:
- Beef
- Pork
- Chicken
- Turkey
- Lamb
Fish and shellfish are permitted. Meat broths, gravies and sauces are also allowed.
Other Allowed Foods
So does turkey qualify as meat on Good Friday? Yes. Turkey, as a type of poultry, is not permitted. Here are some examples of foods Catholics can eat on Good Friday when abstaining from meat:
-
Fish and shellfish – salmon, tuna, shrimp, lobster, clams, etc.
-
Eggs and dairy – milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, etc.
-
Vegetables
-
Fruits
-
Grains – bread, pasta, rice, etc.
-
Meatless soups and broths
-
Meatless pizzas and pastas
Fasting Rules for Age, Health
The fasting and abstinence requirements for Good Friday apply to all Catholics ages 14 and above. However, those with health conditions requiring meat are exempt. Fasting can also be adjusted for factors like age, medical conditions, or pregnancy/nursing status. Those traveling or doing hard physical labor can also modify the fasting requirements.
Spirit of the Law
The Catholic Church emphasizes observing the “spirit of the law” during holy days like Good Friday. While turkey and other meats are technically allowed, abstaining contributes to the solemnity of the occasion. Fish and other permitted foods help Catholics commemorate Jesus’ passion and death through small acts of penance.
Year-Round Fridays
Abstaining from meat on Fridays isn’t limited just to Lent. Catholics are instructed to abstain from meat on all Fridays of the year. However, many choose to substitute special acts of charity or piety on Fridays outside of Lent. But the standard rules of abstinence apply year-round.
So on any given Friday, turkey is off the menu for Catholics observing the weekly meatless tradition. Good Friday during Lent is no exception. When in doubt, opt for seafood, eggs, dairy or other meatless proteins to stay compliant with Catholic fasting.
Good Friday calls Catholics to abstain from meat in remembrance of Christ’s sacrifice. Turkey, as a type of poultry, is classified as meat under the traditional fasting regulations. Fish, eggs, veggies and other meatless foods are suitable options for the holy day. Observing these small acts of abstinence and sacrifice help unite Catholics with the deeper meaning of holy days.
Why can’t you eat meat on Fridays during Lent?
It wasnt that long ago when Catholic Church law said worshipers werent allowed to eat meat on Fridays at all, according to the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis, as it was in place until 1966.
“Thats when Catholics started eating meat on Friday, because it wasnt strictly forbidden anymore,” William Johnston, associate professor of religious studies at the University of Dayton, told USA TODAY.
In 1983, the Code of Canon Law of the Catholic Church revised the rule to where meat wasnt allowed to be eaten on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday, the Archdiocese says, adding the U. S. Catholic Conference of Bishops extended the law to include all Fridays during Lent.
Children and elderly people are usually exempt from fasting and giving up meat.
Giving up meat? Restaurants offering up deals on shrimp, fish sandwiches
What is the meaning of not eating meat?
Abstaining from eating meat reflects the life of Jesus Christ.
“Since Jesus sacrificed his flesh for us on Good Friday, we refrain from eating flesh meat in his honor on Fridays,” the Archdiocese said.
Johnston adds refraining from eating meat is a form of penance – admitting to any wrongdoings and sins while turning back to belief in God.
Whats everyone talking about? Sign up for our trending newsletter to get the latest news of the day
Can you eat meat after 12 on Good Friday?
FAQ
Can I eat turkey on Good Friday?
In Roman Catholic tradition, meat (except fish) should not be eaten on two specific days, Ash Wednesday and Good Friday. Some observers extend this to every Friday, some observers extend this to no meat including fish.
What meat is eaten on Good Friday?
On Good Friday, it’s tradition to eat fish rather than meat. According to Christians, Jesus sacrificed his flesh on what is now known as Good Friday.
Can you eat poultry on Good Friday?
Here are some general guidelines: Abstinence from Meat: Traditionally, Catholics and some other Christian denominations abstain from eating meat on Good Friday. This includes chicken, beef, pork, and other types of meat. Fish and Seafood: While meat is generally avoided, fish and seafood are usually permitted.
What if I accidentally ate meat on Good Friday?
Reply to @mistynichole895 Traditionally, Catholics fast and abstain from meat on every Friday. It’s not a rule (like it is during Lent) So, if you eat meat anytime outside of Lent – don’t worry about it. Eat meat on a Lenten Friday, fully knowing what you’re doing, goto confession.